Web Preview - plugin detail

Preview of files in Embedded Web browser

n/a
Plugin owner: saubrecht
Website: http://www.netbeans.org
Added: 2011-04-08
License: GPL
Category: Utilities
Downloaded: 16,751 times
Rating:
 4.09, by 2 users

Plugin Log Show log

Versions available

Download plugin   Download size: 0.02 MB   Last Update: 2011-04-08

This plugin is also available on the NetBeans Plugin Portal Update Center. Use 'Tools > Plugins' action from the NetBeans IDE main menu for convenient installation of this plugin


What's new in this version



Verifications for NetBeans versions

7.2 verification PASSED See verification details
Download plugin   Download size: 0.02 MB   Last Update: 2011-04-08

This plugin is also available on the NetBeans Plugin Portal Update Center. Use 'Tools > Plugins' action from the NetBeans IDE main menu for convenient installation of this plugin


What's new in this version



Verifications for NetBeans versions

7.1 verification PASSED See verification details
Download plugin   Download size: 0.02 MB   Last Update: 2011-04-08

This plugin is also available on the NetBeans Plugin Portal Update Center. Use 'Tools > Plugins' action from the NetBeans IDE main menu for convenient installation of this plugin


What's new in this version



Verifications for NetBeans versions

7.0 verification PASSED See verification details
Download plugin   Download size: 0.02 MB   Last Update: 2011-04-08

This plugin is also available on the NetBeans Plugin Portal Update Center. Use 'Tools > Plugins' action from the NetBeans IDE main menu for convenient installation of this plugin


What's new in this version



Verifications for NetBeans versions

6.9 verification PASSED See verification details


Introduction

Web Preview module allows to directly preview HTML pages inside IDE using Embedded Mozilla browser. Also when editing CSS files user can preview any selected HTML page that includes the CSS file. Web Preview is avaiable only for Windows platform and will be available only when Embedded Browser UI - XUL Runner module is installed in IDE.

[ You have to be logged in to be able to comment. ]

User Comments

  

Internal Webserver Works on External Browsers

It turns out that the internal webserver is not just internal to Netbeans, but you can pull up your pages on external browsers. It seems to honor the port you assign, and an external browser will render a little more faithfully than the internal one. Thus, you can use the internal one as a quick check while you work, and an external one as a double-check when you are done. I've even uninstalled XAMP server and saved some HD space.

BTW: It is working on Win7 32-bit.
Posted by CodeLurker on Mar 06, 2013
  

Fails on first two uses

It's a minor quibble, and I like it very well; but when I set it up as I describe in the following two posts, when I start NetBeans fresh, and choose Run, it fails to display the page the first time. Doing so automatically starts the server, and it works the third time. Perhaps there needs to be "Start Server" and "Stop Server" commands.
Posted by CodeLurker on Mar 05, 2013
  

Feature request:

Now that I have it running, I'd most like to be able to right-click somewhere in the editor window, and choose "locate in internal WebServer" and right-click somewhere in the webserver on a php page, and choose "locate in editor window"; and the focus would move to the corresponding window and late the corresponding code. Since the php processor is external to the server, I can see how this might be impractical and/or difficult; and a pattern-based solution would take some effort to work most of the time ...
Posted by CodeLurker on Mar 04, 2013
  

More info

Ok, I now see that you can open it just as a browser, with Window | Web Browser; in addition to using it as an option to open a page by setting the project properties | Run configuration. Here's anudda clue to help youse. By going to Tools | Options | General Tab, specifying a PHP interpreter, and choosing "Open Result In" and checking "Web Browser", I am now happy to report that this plugin is showing me my php page very well. I have since moved the window down below the main editing window, and can edit my php in one window, and see the result in the window below it. Time will tell if I prefer to do it this way, but I have always wanted to try. jEdit can't even do this, nor (as far as I know, Aptana studio. When I'm done with my edits, I just save my work, and hit refresh on the integrated browser. Woohoo! You guys are doing a bang-up job! (P.S.: Working fine on 7.3.)
Posted by CodeLurker on Mar 04, 2013
  

How to get it started

What the Introduction doesn't tell you, is that in Tools>Options>General you have to select "Embedded Mozilla Browser". Then, you must be in an HTML file, and click "Preview" on the file's toolbar. You will then see a button in the preview window, offering to install something. Click it.

Bugs: It appears that the Preview window can be grayed out, even with the preview open; but this is intermittent. Clicking the X on the preview window to close it causes it only to quickly flash open again; as opposed to toggling the Preview button. Sometimes it can display a page other than the tab you have open. For example, it displayed a PHP page I couldn't even get a Preview button for one time.

These things being said, I think this shows great promise. Now, is there a way to get it to act on PHP files? I have the PHP processor defined, but it is only vers. 5.3 on the wamp server. I'm using NB 7.2 on Seven.
Posted by CodeLurker on Jan 27, 2013
  

is it working in 64 bit os? windows?

hi saubrecht,

I read that the embedded mozilla browser (embedded browser ui xul runner) is not supported in windows 64 bit. I suppose it also applies to this plug in right?

Posted by carlosqt on Jul 04, 2012
  

Impossible d'utiliser le plug-in

Hello !

Développeur php j'ai essayé d'installé ce plug-in pour avoir un vue du code produit,. Il s'est bien installé, mais je ne trouve pas le moyen de l'utiliser :-)

Pas moyen d'ouvrir une page web dans un onglet et je ne trouve pas de doc sur ce plug-in

Olivier
Posted by wd_newbie on Jun 14, 2012
  

not too good

I tried this. get some issue:

+ cannot install with netbean 6.9.1
I get some message: "Some plugins require plugin Editor to be installed.
The plugin Editor is requested in version >= 1.53 but only 1.50.1.3.10.2 was found"

+ test with netbean 7.0.1
- I cannot edit html element while previewing it's content.
- Get some flick while change preview mode.
- Some time it slow down my IDE

I try HTML editer in eclipse, it work quite ok. So I will be happy if netbean also have one like that.
thanks at all.
Posted by harunaga on Nov 01, 2011
By use of this website, you agree to the NetBeans Policies and Terms of Use. © 2012, Oracle Corporation and/or its affiliates. Sponsored by Oracle logo